Originally named “Stonedene”, The Manor was built in 1929 and is an example of a domestic estate building constructed in the Tudor Revival Style.
Stonedene was built for Harry Lynne Plummer and his wife Joyce. In 1949, the Land Registry indicates that Victoria
T. Matthews, the wife of Major General Albert Bruce Matthews, owned the property. Major General Matthews was educated at Upper Canada College and the University of Geneva .
Matthews served with the Canadian Military, 7 th Toronto regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery from 1928 – 1939 and was involved in the Second World War between the years of 1939 – 1945. He served in several capacities, achieving the rank of Major General in 1944.
The property was sold to the Ontario Mission of the Deaf in 1976 and the house was converted into administrative offices. The goal was to build a Community Centre for the Deaf that Canada has never before seen.
That goal was realized a few years later. Today, The Bob Rumball Centre for the Deaf boasts residential programs for the elderly, a preschool program, a vocational training program and an adult education curriculum, all to meet the needs of the deaf
and hard of hearing in North America .
Rev. Bob Rumball was instrumental in the raising of funds to make the dream a reality. He called in the efforts of friends like Conn Smythe, Whipper Watson and Harold Ballard, . Bob Rumball himself was a professional football player and played for the Ottawa Roughriders and the Toronto Argos.
Since 1976, The Manor has served as administrative offices for programs such as group homes, a summer camp and interpreting services. In May of 1996, the Junior League of Toronto brought in top design firms in the Toronto area and gave the house a much needed facelift. The Manor was then showcased to the community as a fundraising event. Today, we are offering this beautiful, elegant space to the community to be used for weddings, parties and corporate functions.